news and publications
News & Publications

OneStone Supports 2012 Undergraduate Water Prize

The Undergraduate Water Prize, organised yearly by the Australian Water Association, took place in October and November 2012. The Prize encourages and rewards students for excellence in the field of water studies and research, and provides a forum for students to display their academic excellence and research findings to future employers, clients and the water industry.

This year, OneStone’s Eelko van der Vaart was on the judging panel, together with Misty-Lee Palmer from the National Centre of Excellence in Desalination, and Des Lord from D A Lord & Associates. With topics ranging from copper removal using chicken drumstick bones to the state of urban water management in Perth, the judges had a challenging time selecting the 3 finalists.

Interestingly, the 3 finalists represented the quite different fields of engineering, chemistry and architecture. This resulted in an interesting mix of presentations that covered the interaction between groundwater and surface water in drains, dissolved organic nitrogen in drinking water sources and the design of a large water sensitive park on Perth’s urban fringe.

The winner, Laura Thwaites of UWA, was announced at AWA’s yearly WA Water Awards Gala Dinner. OneStone wishes to congratulate Laura with her win and wishes her good luck with her presentation for the National Undergraduate Water Prize at Ozwater 2013 in Perth.